Dinogal’s Weblog


Databases
November 3, 2008, 12:35 am
Filed under: Musings

I am lucky that I have the opportunity to search these databases on a regular basis.  I spent some time on the ones I use less frequently and I spent some time on TryItIllinois offerings.  Then, just for fun, I did look at the Historical New York Times for my birth-date.  It was not a big news day.  However, reports included reportage of Elizabeth Taylor’s first divorce (from Nick Hilton) and atomic bomb testing in Nevada. (Yes, they did test here.  This was intended to be a deterrent to the Soviet Union.)  Perhaps my favorite article was a report about the first demonstration of  the new desk sized (that is desk sized, not desk top) computer, Maddid, developed by Northrup for defense purposes.  It could be operated by one person!  With push buttons!  It could store 10,000 digits!  It could do the work of the usual warehouse sized computers!  Imagine.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love the report of the desk sized computer. Amazing to think how very quickly we’ve moved to entire computers in our phones.

Comment by Ellen




Leave a Reply

